Why I Don’t Do New Years

 

img_2012

While everyone was out having fun and partying, I was home in bed. I fell asleep to the animated Doctor Strange movie at about 9pm.  I had a headache and just wanted to sleep it off.

Every year was the same.  I would buy a bottle of wine, toast the new year, and get emotional, as I thought about all the horrible stuff I was saying bye to. Goodbye 2016, you were the worst year ever.  But so was 2015, 2014, 2013 and just keep going.  Every year at midnight, I have this expectation that the next second will be different from the last because the year changed.
But let’s be real.  The clock changed.  I didn’t.  Those calories I consumed from my heavy meal and too much alcohol didn’t disappear. My body stiffness from lack of exercise is still running rampant. Purchases I didn’t need to make are still showing up in my bank account.

We’ve heard the statistics.  That most New Years resolutions are given up after January.  Why is this? I think it’s because January holds false promise.  January is a time of new beginnings because, well… because the calendar says so.  So we vow to lose 50 pounds or get a new job.  We make goals solely based on what time of year it is, thinking January has some magical component that will eventually solve all of our problems. We don’t make our goals from a place of belief in ourselves.

January isn’t magical- you are. When you put your faith in a day, a season, a time of year, it strips you of your own magic.  Your potential doesn’t die because it’s February or November.  For example- in the last month of 2016, I was able to secure my dream job in less than 48 hours.  That came from hard work, positive affirmations, visualizations and ambition.  It wasn’t a new year and yet, I still made it happen.

I don’t want to seem like a downer. I do believe in magic.  But, magic is infinite.  The power you hold in your mind and heart doesn’t care what day it is.

So how do we really make things happen?  First, stop blaming everything and everybody else.  It wasn’t 2016’s fault, or Obama’s, or Trump’s that you made the decisions you made to get where you are right now.  As soon as you give up blaming outside circumstance, you take back your power.

Next step.  I’m going to quote Shia Labeouf and say, “JUST DO IT!”
Seriously,  let go of the excuses and figure out a way to make it work. You have the power to make anything happen.

So what are my plans?  Well, I’m continuing on my plans from December.  I’m still going to work on getting healthy.  I am still going to work on my taekwondo.  I am still working on my book and new website.  I am not taking on new projects just because it’s January.

If you made a resolution just remember- it’s not the time of year that holds the key to your success. It’s you.  It’s starting and failing and trying again and failing more and getting back on that damn horse every time you’re bucked off. It’s persistence and self belief that will get you to where you want to be.  You can do this- no matter what time of year it is.

Leave a Reply

